Our Days in Cannes, France and Tuscany


I typed this up yesterday, and wanted to share it with you all, but we had some trouble with the Royal Caribbean Wireless Internet, so even though it’s a day late, here you go:

“Hello from Livorno, Italy. We just got back to the ship after a 9 and 1/2 hour tour highlighting the old city of Pisa, home of the Leaning Tower, the largest claim to fame for the city, and the beautifully countryside of Tuscany. Don’t worry. There are pictures at the end of the post, but because I only have limited Internet time on the ship, I can’t format them in as I usually do.

Now, before I talk about today, I would like to give the highlights of the trip since my last post. On Monday morning, before we got on the ship, we strolled around in a popular outdoor food market off of Las Ramblas, “Mercat St. Josep, La Boqueria” as the signs said, anyway. The abundance of locally grown and freshly picked, not processed, fruits and vegetables was incredible. As were the varieties of freshly caught fish and seafood from the Mediterranean.

Yesterday we tendered into Cannes, France, where a famous film festival takes place each year. We went to Midi Plage- which translates to Middle Beach. The water was a bit chilly, but that was okay since the temperature was almost 90 deg. (F)

Now for today. Our guide, Luca, picked us up just a bit after 8:00am, and we had no trouble eating in the dining room at 7:00. We let our waiter know that we had a tour at 8, and our breakfast was out by 7:10. I had blackberry pancakes, which I had never heard of before, and they were delicious and much fluffier (like a true pancake) than the ones you occasionally see on cruise ships.

Our first stop was the old city of Pisa, home to what is still standing in a town that was devastated by bombings in World War II. This includes the Bell Tower, more commonly known as the Leaning Tower of Pisa, along with the Cathedral of Pisa, and the building that was once used to house the Catholic Pilgrims visiting the beautiful Cathedral.

My family and I climbed the tower which was very challenging when it comes to balance. Think about climbing stairs at up to a 15 degree tilt.

We visited an Italian Vineyard, and then drove through the Italian Countryside to an untouched Medieval Village whose name I cannot recall as we have seen so much! We had lunch at a restaurant where we were the only people who spoke English besides our guide who translated. My family and friends and I shared Bruschetta and a Caprese Salad. I had homemade Ravioli stuffed with Ricotta and Spinach with a Meat Sauce, and Tiramisu for dessert.

What a Wonderful Day in Tuscany!

Here are the long awaited photos:
Please comment to let me know about the photo sizes. I’m sorry I can’t display them at the largest possible size as I usually do. This is because of the slow onboard Internet.

20120719-185935.jpg

20120719-185942.jpg

20120719-190002.jpg

20120719-190009.jpg

20120719-185953.jpg
Goodbye for now! Photos of Rome (today) will come later!
Spencer

2 thoughts on “Our Days in Cannes, France and Tuscany

  1. Sounds like a most excellent adventure! Enjoyed the pics – brought back memories of my time living in Europe. Have fun. Look forward to more updates.

  2. Spencer your photos and narrative are wonderful – Not to worry about size of the pics at all. Thank you so much for sharing this trip. I probably will never do it – so I’m living vicariously through your young eyes and heart. Grandma (OGG) Sue

Leave a Reply

